Count Your Blessings Name Them One By One.

Adeola Wright
3 min readNov 1, 2021

--

In my junior secondary school, every Tuesday (or was it Wednesday?) we would gather in our classes and sing praise and worship songs mindlessly, moving from song to song, swaying from side to side and clapping twice after every lyric. I say mindlessly because for me, it became such a routine that if someone woke me up from my deepest slumber at that time, I’d sing the praise songs by heart, and in the usual order we sang them.

Count your blessings name them one by one.

And then I’d clap twice. I say mindlessly because at that time I did not know and couldn’t tell how powerful that song was. I didn’t know that it actually mattered to literally count your blessings and name them one by one. Every single one. The ones you think are small and the ones you think are huge and incomparable. It’s great to be aware of how well you are doing, of how many times you’ve escaped death, everytime you had a little headache, you slept and it was gone, it could be as simple as everytime you breathe. For me, it’s almost like once you start actually naming your blessings, you forget about the downfalls and the small Ls you’ve taken.

Count your blessing see what God has done.

My voice goes just a key higher. When you ask someone to tell you what God has done for them, they’d usually give you the “So many things my dear.” Or my personal favorite “If I start today we will sleep here.” This makes sense most definitely, God has done a multitude of things for every single person on this earth right now, things that we know as well as things we do not know, it would be crazy, kind of absurd even, to really name them all. That by the way, it’s not a terrible idea to start, it’s not a bad idea to take them into account. An easy way to efficiently do this is keeping a journal, it’s as easy as writing just one thing a day that you’re grateful for, taking it and running with it.

Count your blessings name them one by one.

One step, two step. It’s easy to forget things someone has done for you, you forget and you dwell on the losses, this is okay, infact it’s fair and humane but that’s the opportunity for you to go back to your journal or your mind, start to count your blessings, name them, and watch how unmatched these litte tribulations are to you. I remember when I was nine years old and I put my head on my mother’s belly and asked sheepishly “Is it a boy or a girl?” she smiled her beautiful smile as always and said “Whatever you pray for.” That night, for the first time ever, I prayed with a goal in my mind and with intent, If my mother said I could handpick the gender of my sibling, who was going to stop me?

And it will surprise you what the Lord has done.

And then the song seamlessly changes. On most days I like to call him my first testimony, he isn’t literally, but he’s the first prayer point I remember having, apart from the Lord’s prayer of course (which again I said mindlessly at the time) and having it come true, having him come to life. I stared at him for hours, for days. I couldn’t comprehend that I was looking at my own brother. Till today I look at him and I think how awfully lucky I am to have him. He is my first blessing and his name is Salt.

Count your blessings and name them one by one till you’re tired today. Write them down, tell someone about these blessings, it makes them more real. And always, always take time to thank God for the little things, the big things and the ones in between today.

By Adeola Wright.

--

--